Dublin Wind Symphony Concert Program

Star Spangled Banner/Ukraine National Anthem – Francis Scott Key, Pavlo Chubynsky

Gershwin by George! – George Gershwin, arr. Jerry Brubaker
Strike Up the Band, I Got Rhythm, Embraceable You, An American in Paris, Prelude II, Summertime, Rhapsody in Blue

Salute to the Cinema – arr. Carl Strommen
Hooray for Hollywood, Singin’ in the Rain, Over the Rainbow, As Time Goes By, A Day in the Life of a Fool.

The Golden Age of Broadway – John Moss
Bali Ha’i (South Pacific), Oklahoma (Oklahoma), Getting to Know You (The King and I), The Carousel Waltz (Carousel), Climb Ev’ry Mountain (The Sound of Music)

Star Wars Heroes – John Williams, arr Jerry Brubaker
Star Wars (Main Theme), Luke and Leia, Battle of the Heroes, Han Solo and the Princess, The Throne Room

Fantasy Adventure at the Movies
– arr. Michael Brown
Theme from “Star Trek,” Back to the Future, Once Upon a Time…Storybook Love (from “The Princess Bride”), The RocketeerTheme from “E.T.” (The Extra-Terrestrial)

Encanto – Lin-Manuel Miranda
Colombia Mi Encanto, Surface Pressure, Waiting on a Miracle, We Don’t Talk About Bruno 

Under the Direction of Jeff Chesser

Jeff Chesser has been teaching in Ohio public schools since 1990, and since 1992 in the Dublin City Schools. He earned his Bachelor of Music Degree at Ohio Northern University, where he studied Trumpet with Dr. Edwin Williams and conducting with Dennis Kratzer and John Climer. At The Ohio State University, he studied with Jon Woods, Hilleary Apflestadt, James Gallagher, and Richard Blatti as he earned his Master of Arts in Music Education. He is now a middle school band director in Dublin City Schools after teaching for 26 years at Dublin Scioto High School.

Jeff is no stranger to the community band experience. He began in his hometown with the Cambridge City Band even before he graduated from Cambridge High School. Since then he has been a member of the Zanesville Municipal Band, Muskingum Valley Winds, Worthington Civic Band, Scioto Valley Brass & Percussion, and the Westerville Community Concert Band.  He is thrilled to be directing such talented and dedicated people as those in the Dublin Wind Symphony.

Jeff resides in Westerville with his wife, Kris. They are members of the Church of the Messiah United Methodist Church, where they are frequent contributors to the music ministry as singers and instrumentalists.

Carl E. Evans Memorial Scholarship

Carl spent a lifetime dedicated to education and his passion for music ran deep. After earning his bachelor’s degree from the University of Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio, he went on to obtain a Master’s degree from Westminster College in New Wilmington, Pennsylvania. Before retiring from the Ohio Department of Education, Carl held various positions as a teacher, band director, principal, and district administrator. His love of music led him to being a choir director at numerous churches. 

To honor Carl’s dedication to music, education, and his community, the members of the Dublin Wind Symphony are offering the Carl E. Evans Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is available to a high school senior at Dublin Scioto High School who is active in music and is pursuing a degree in music or education.

2023 Winners:

Luke Bolyard

Luke is a very musically involved individual. He has played the viola for seven years, and has been singing for much longer. Along with high school orchestra and choir, he has been a proud member of Scioto’s Thespian Troop 5440. His first show was in sixth grade, and he has been acting ever since. He has been a drama club officer for two years, and vocal director for this year’s Theatre III class. He will be attending Capital University this fall to major in Vocal Music Education. He hopes to eventually teach high school choirs and pass on his love for music to future generations. He would like to thank his family and friends for all of their support. And last but not least, he is incredibly grateful for the Dublin Wind Symphony and this amazing scholarship.

Alia Anandika

Alia has played guitar and ukulele since the 1st grade, participated in the orchestra and choir throughout middle school, and taken choir every year of high school. She’s participated in many clubs throughout her high school career, including Student Senate, Key club, Interact club, Teen Institute, and Black Youth United. She co-lead French club, Environmental club, and Dance club for the past 2 years, and co-founded the For Women Club. Through the For Women Club, she was able to start a podcast, a blog, and form protests. 

Alia’s favorite thing to do is sing; She’s recorded songs, both originals and covers, a lot of them with her brother. She also performed at school events, shows and weddings, and hopes to continue recording and performing songs in the future. To achieve her goals, Alia will be majoring in Fine Arts, and minoring in Music, Media, and Enterprise at The Ohio State University this Fall.

To donate to the Carl E. Evans Memorial Scholarship, visit this website: dublin-community-bands.square.site

Dublin Wind Symphony

Linda Allen
Lisa Davenport
Dorianne Deitrick
Clara Ferance
Becky Horseman
Julie Kirk
Kiran McCoy
Allison Miller
Cindy Nogar
Peggy Opatken
Jan Province
Jan Sheppherd
Laurie Tennyson
Nancy Twynham
Gail St. Clair
Ashley Studer

Emma Waldron

Kate Davis
Linda Dreier
Marcia Gilton
Allam Huang
Alexandra Janowski
Corie Jakes
David Jakes
Megan Kochheiser
Richard Koelbel
Kristi Meadows
Kathy Miller-Kubinski
Susie Mason
Janet Mohr
Elizabeth Rimer
Reid Robichaud
Allison Travis

Bass Clarinet:
Kurt Grossman

Rick Barnes

Marissa Gittrich
Jochen McEvoy
Rand Methfessel
Joel Paige
Jessica Whitley
Martin Williams
Kelsi Wittum

Charmaine Ellington
Larry Garrison
Gene Huh
Dale Kanner
David Kentner
Kara Lamentia
Denny Longo
Corbin Moxley
Kim Nocera
Lorri Posani
Jonathan Shaffer
Steve Simpson
Tom Tait
Dave van Deusen
Danielle Voss
Kelly Wendling
DJ Wheeler
Kurt Wolf
Caedmon Wood

French Horn:
Dennis Calnon
Allison Chartrand
Laurie Danis
Rick Franks
Robert Grandbois
Emily Greenberg
Andrew Moscardino
Lisa Olsen
Bill Schmelzer
Kathy Waite

Erica Booth
Emily Bright-Woeste
Jon Conner
Peter Gutowski
Shannon King
Andy Mason
Dan McQuown
Braydon Putnam
Alex Strand
Dave Wallace

Bob Armour
Jakob Bakall-Loewgren
Bruce Boucher
Kris Chesser
Rob Fischer
Rebecca Sallade

Rich Armstrong
Art Molitierno
Lisa Parrott
Ric Reinhold

Nick Berkebile
Mahesh Chabria
Katie Liddle
Audrey Livingston
Brent Krumenacker
Tim Lloyd
Chris Matlack
John Shaw